Atlanta Track Club Recognizes Top High School Athletes at 53rd Annual All-Metro Track and Field Awards Banquet

ATLANTA – June 7, 2017 – Atlanta Track Club honored 49 of the best student athletes in Georgia at its All-Metro High School Track and Field Awards Banquet on Wednesday, June 7 at The Stave Room. Since 1964, Atlanta Track Club has hosted the All-Metro Awards Banquet as part of its commitment to recognize outstanding high school track and field and cross country athletes.

The All-Metro athletes were selected based on criteria including performance at the state meet, season bests and head-to-head competition. The coaches and the community then voted for one male and one female to be named Most Outstanding Track Athlete and Most Outstanding Field Athlete. Those athletes were announced at the banquet, where they received a $1,500 scholarship, and are listed below.

Most Outstanding Track Athletes

Male Athlete

Brian Herron

Lakeside High School

Female Athlete

Kennedy Simon

Westlake High School

Most Outstanding Field Athletes

Male Athlete

Cameron Murray

Westlake High School

Female Athlete

Victoria Agyin

McEachern High School

“As someone who has covered Olympic Track and Field for more than 20 years, it is an honor to be surrounded by the future of this sport – many of whom I am sure I will see again on the national stage,” said Lewis Johnson, event emcee and Olympic Track and Field analyst for NBC Sports.

Two coaches were also acknowledged for their outstanding dedication to the sport of track and field. Coach Chris Carter of Brookwood High School received the Hawthorne Wesley Award for his work with the girls track and field team, while Coach Tim Hamling of Woodward Academy’s boys track and field team was the recipient of the Judo Brown Award.

In addition to awards, two $2,500 scholarships were presented by Atlanta Track Club and The Atlanta Track Club Foundation to local track and field seniors who excelled on and off the field of plane during their high school career. The 8th Annual Patty Foell Scholarship Award was presented to Marie Repasy of Milton High School. Jay Judge of Walton High School was awarded the 4th Annual Hawthorne Wesley Scholarship Award.

For more information on the All-Metro High School Track and Field Awards Banquet, visit To view a full list of the 2017 All-Metro Track and Field Team, click here.

About Atlanta Track Club
Atlanta Track Club is a nonprofit committed to creating an active and healthy Atlanta. Through running and walking, Atlanta Track Club motivates, inspires and engages the community to enjoy a healthier lifestyle. With more than 27,000 members, Atlanta Track Club is the second largest running organization in the United States. In addition to the AJC Peachtree Road Race ( – the largest 10K running event in the world, the Publix Georgia Marathon, PNC Atlanta 10 Miler and Thanksgiving Day Half Marathon, Atlanta Track Club directs more than 30 events per year. Through the support of its members and volunteers, Atlanta Track Club also maintains a number of community initiatives including organizing and promoting the Kilometer Kids youth running program to metro Atlanta youth, honoring high school cross country and track and field athletes through Atlanta Track Club’s All-Metro Banquets and supporting the Grady Bicycle EMT program. For more information on Atlanta Track Club, visit