Atlanta Track Club Honors 56th Annual Powerade All-Metro Cross Country Team

ATLANTA - December 3, 2019 - Atlanta Track Club recognized the 56th edition of the Powerade All-Metro Cross Country Team on Tuesday night, honoring 42 runners from around the Atlanta metro-area with first, second and third team designations. Hannah Miniutti of Blessed Trinity Catholic School and Sully Shelton of Harrison High School were named Runners of the Year.

Miniutti, a junior at Blessed Trinity, won the 4A GHSA State Championship earlier this month, completing a season that saw her burst onto the Georgia cross country scene and dominate all fall. She also picked up wins at the Wingfoot XC Classic earlier in the season and ran a 17:54 personal best en route to receiving the Ray Buckley Award for the girls Runner of the Year

Hannah Minuitti
Hannah Minuitti

Sully Shelton
Sully Shelton

"I definitely didn't expect it," Miniutti said after receiving the award. "There are so many amazing runners here I just couldn't even imagine. I'm super happy with my season - I'd gotten injured the last two years so it's really great to make it through the season."

Shelton, also a junior, took home the Jeff Benton Award for boys Runner of the Year after a season that included a 6A State Championship and wins at the Coach Wood Invitational and Cobb County Championship. His 14:58 season's best was one of the fastest times in the state.

"I was super stoked to know I won it," Shelton said. "I loved my season as a whole and we got a big team win at state so it was a great season. I hope to come back next year and win it again."

The athletes named to the team Tuesday night represented 11counties and 28schools in the metro Atlanta area. They were part of a night that also included a celebration of the top five moments of the 2019 cross country season. The Moment of the Year, which received more than 26,000 votes via a poll on, went to the boys of Walton High School, who won their first state championship since 1986.

"We're incredibly proud to honor these young runners and add them to the storied history of All-Metro Cross Country teams," said Rich Kenah, Atlanta Track Club's Executive Director. "From the time Atlanta Track Club was born, we've been inspired by the performances of Running City USA's best high school runners, and this year is no exception. I'm looking forward to seeing what these young athletes continue to achieve."

Eleven state championship-winning coaches were also honored Tuesday evening. Greg Johnson of Blessed Trinity Catholic received the Paul Koshewa Coaches Dedication Award, which goes to an outstanding girls coach, while Dan McCauley of Paideia School received the Jerry Frasier Coaches Dedication Award for outstanding boys coach.

First Team

Hannah Minuitti Blessed Trinity Catholic School Junior
Madelynne Cadeau
South Forsyth High SchoolSenior
Erin FegansLandmark Christian SchoolSenior
Morgan Vaden St. Pius XSenior
Makena GatesCreekview High SchoolJunior
McKenna CroftDouglas County High School Senior
Kelly Ann Sutterfield Blessed Trinity Catholic SchoolSophomore
Sully Shelton Harrison High School Junior
Myles CollinsArcher High SchoolSenior
Noah HayesHillgrove High SchoolSenior
Zack TruittLandmark Christian SchoolJunior
Devin WadeWhitefield Academy Senior
Cole HeronPope High SchoolSenior
Kamari MillerMarietta High School Junior

Second Team

Mary BradySt. Pius XJunior
Catherine BreaultSt. Pius XJunior
Grace Ellsworth Hillgrove High SchoolSenior
June Mwaniki Marietta High SchoolSenior
Kathleen SchellmanMarist School Senior
Ashley SechrestCambridge High School Senior
Mira SrinivasaWestminister SchoolSophomore
Cooper BockoLambert High School Junior
Brennan BowerSouth Forsyth High SchoolSenior
William Brown Pope High SchoolSenior
Christian GonzalezDecatur High SchoolSophomore
Domonic MaciasUnion Grove High SchoolSenior
Connor OldWalton High School Senior
Zachary RoeWestminster SchoolSenior

Third Team

Brooke BrowningHebron Christian AcademySophomore
Sarah BurwellWalton High SchoolJunior
Nyah HernandezMilton High SchoolSenior
Cara JoyceAtlanta International SchoolSophomore
Emily LittleMarist SchoolSenior
Reagan MahoneyAtlanta International SchoolSenior
Elle MezzioRiverwood International Charter SchoolJunior
George AdamsPace AcademySenior
Jackson BordenLovett SchoolSenior
Noah ConnellyHarrison High SchoolJunior
Kyle HarkabusEast Coweta High SchoolSenior
Collin JonesCarrollton High SchoolJunior
Mikias MekonenLakeside High SchoolSenior
Zac SchafferWalton High SchoolSenior

Photos by Paul McPherson