Thanks for printing!  Don't forget to come back to Atlanta Track Club for fresh articles!

Atlanta Track Club Honors 56th Annual Powerade All-Metro Cross Country Team

Return to the Blog Home Page

ATLANTA - December 3, 2019 - Atlanta Track Club recognized the 56th edition of the Powerade All-Metro Cross Country Team on Tuesday night, honoring 42 runners from around the Atlanta metro-area with first, second and third team designations. Hannah Miniutti of Blessed Trinity Catholic School and Sully Shelton of Harrison High School were named Runners of the Year.

Miniutti, a junior at Blessed Trinity, won the 4A GHSA State Championship earlier this month, completing a season that saw her burst onto the Georgia cross country scene and dominate all fall. She also picked up wins at the Wingfoot XC Classic earlier in the season and ran a 17:54 personal best en route to receiving the Ray Buckley Award for the girls Runner of the Year

Hannah Minuitti
Hannah Minuitti

Sully Shelton
Sully Shelton

"I definitely didn't expect it," Miniutti said after receiving the award. "There are so many amazing runners here I just couldn't even imagine. I'm super happy with my season - I'd gotten injured the last two years so it's really great to make it through the season."

Shelton, also a junior, took home the Jeff Benton Award for boys Runner of the Year after a season that included a 6A State Championship and wins at the Coach Wood Invitational and Cobb County Championship. His 14:58 season's best was one of the fastest times in the state.

"I was super stoked to know I won it," Shelton said. "I loved my season as a whole and we got a big team win at state so it was a great season. I hope to come back next year and win it again."

The athletes named to the team Tuesday night represented 11counties and 28schools in the metro Atlanta area. They were part of a night that also included a celebration of the top five moments of the 2019 cross country season. The Moment of the Year, which received more than 26,000 votes via a poll on, went to the boys of Walton High School, who won their first state championship since 1986.

"We're incredibly proud to honor these young runners and add them to the storied history of All-Metro Cross Country teams," said Rich Kenah, Atlanta Track Club's Executive Director. "From the time Atlanta Track Club was born, we've been inspired by the performances of Running City USA's best high school runners, and this year is no exception. I'm looking forward to seeing what these young athletes continue to achieve."

Eleven state championship-winning coaches were also honored Tuesday evening. Greg Johnson of Blessed Trinity Catholic received the Paul Koshewa Coaches Dedication Award, which goes to an outstanding girls coach, while Dan McCauley of Paideia School received the Jerry Frasier Coaches Dedication Award for outstanding boys coach.

First Team

Name School Year
Hannah Minuitti Blessed Trinity Catholic School Junior
Madelynne Cadeau
South Forsyth High School Senior
Erin Fegans Landmark Christian School Senior
Morgan Vaden St. Pius X Senior
Makena Gates Creekview High School Junior
McKenna Croft Douglas County High School Senior
Kelly Ann Sutterfield Blessed Trinity Catholic School Sophomore
Sully Shelton Harrison High School Junior
Myles Collins Archer High School Senior
Noah Hayes Hillgrove High School Senior
Zack Truitt Landmark Christian School Junior
Devin Wade Whitefield Academy Senior
Cole Heron Pope High School Senior
Kamari Miller Marietta High School Junior

Second Team

Name School Year
Mary Brady St. Pius X Junior
Catherine Breault St. Pius X Junior
Grace Ellsworth Hillgrove High School Senior
June Mwaniki Marietta High School Senior
Kathleen Schellman Marist School Senior
Ashley Sechrest Cambridge High School Senior
Mira Srinivasa Westminister School Sophomore
Cooper Bocko Lambert High School Junior
Brennan Bower South Forsyth High School Senior
William Brown Pope High School Senior
Christian Gonzalez Decatur High School Sophomore
Domonic Macias Union Grove High School Senior
Connor Old Walton High School Senior
Zachary Roe Westminster School Senior

Third Team

Name School Year
Brooke Browning Hebron Christian Academy Sophomore
Sarah Burwell Walton High School Junior
Nyah Hernandez Milton High School Senior
Cara Joyce Atlanta International School Sophomore
Emily Little Marist School Senior
Reagan Mahoney Atlanta International School Senior
Elle Mezzio Riverwood International Charter School Junior
George Adams Pace Academy Senior
Jackson Borden Lovett School Senior
Noah Connelly Harrison High School Junior
Kyle Harkabus East Coweta High School Senior
Collin Jones Carrollton High School Junior
Mikias Mekonen Lakeside High School Senior
Zac Schaffer Walton High School Senior

Photos by Paul McPherson